It is ok not to feel ok

Our start back to normality was short lived, but it was not unexpected. These Stage 4 measures, while challenging and difficult were necessary if we were to get back to any kind of normal living in the foreseeable future. So I am really quite relieved that the State Government made the decision to do this. But what it means for us as a School who’s main teaching business is clinical education is a whole lot of mess. I want to pause there on that thought and focus on the bigger picture because, I will come back to the School…

I found last week really hard. The increasing stress in the community was palpable. What is going to happen, when is it going to happen… trying to push ahead with education and planning while worrying so much about students, their families and what they want or need. It was too much. I wandered along the beach sobbing on Saturday morning, tweeting emotionally and seeking solace in some dear colleagues who reached out to support me. And I am not someone who usually suffers with anxiety, I have had significant heartache in my life but I am always cope…

But I don’t have to. This is stressful, this is unprecedented (at least for most Australians) and it is ok to own that and say this is hard. I listened to a wonderful podcast with two of my academic heros: Dr. Jesse Stommel and Dr. Bonni Stachowiack. Now it is aimed at lecturers, but in the first 10 minutes Jesse talks about all the words he doesn’t want to hear ever again:

 

 

You can listen to the podcast here:

I think that this image or the iceberg analogy is often used in management and leadership workshop describes what is going on for most of us at the moment… on the surface we might appear to be coping, but underneath we have stacks going on. We all need to realise that everyone is in this situation with us and be respectful and kind. Be supportive and stay in contact with friends and family. We have such a diverse population in our School we also need to recognise that people have lots of family in Australia and overseas who will contract Covid and people will unfortunately lose loved ones. The trauma associated with 2020 will stay with us for a while.

https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/iceberg-illusion-top-10-pitfalls-when-moving-justin-hilford

 

But as healthcare professionals or as people who are going to be joining the healthcare profession we have an important role to play in helping people maintain good oral health. So continuing with preclinical and clinical education is something that is important. We wont force you to graduate or complete your year level if you are not ready to progress, but we will do everything we can to get you to the right level. Please be patient while we sort through all of these new rules and regulations and stay in contact with me or any of the teaching staff. There are stacks of resources we can let you know about. Also keep up with the CPD from ADOHTA and DHAA… they are offering heaps at the moment – get in there and be part of our amazing profession.

I am thinking that we might all meet together for some #BOHPerioChats over the next few weeks. They certainly helped me blow off steam last semester… If you want to start sending me photos that I can include in my own blogs of your achievements, your pets or your exercise spaces it would be a wonderful way to continue to stay together as a course. I understand that you wont all want to and privacy is a priority but the art projects have been amazing and I was brought to tears this morning when I received this lovely good morning shot from the Jennifer, Talia, Do and Ben at Morwell. Just love seeing all your faces… well you know what I mean.

 

 

So appreciate that it is ok to feel different, sad, worried at this time. But know that you are surrounded by people in the same situation and people who will do everything the can to help you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *