Week 2

This week, since the days were warm and sunny, it was easier to wake up every morning to come to uni. Today I finally got to see my first patient in the morning (as well as 2 more in the afternoon in perio clinic)- a paedo patient. She was a friendly 13 year old and I completed an exam on her. I did an odontogram in a systematic way, so I didn’t miss anything and I was happy with the way I identified plaque retentive pits and fissures and caries. I also discussed this diagnosis and the treatment plan with the demonstrator which really helped me confirm my findings.

The afternoon perio clinic, however, was hectic for me as I was expected to complete the medical history, comprehensive exam and BPE in just an hour and then only 15 mins to write my notes.  I felt very pressured to do everything so quickly as well as thoroughly. But I know that in the real, we only have a short time to do everything and so yes, I did learn to work under pressure and hopefully I will improve my time management overtime.

One thought on “Week 2

  1. Time management is so important and will get you ready for your placements next year. They will expect you to take histories and do, COE, BPE, perio chart and notes in 1hr. It can get hectic but if you set yourself right this year and aim to finish everything in 1hr, it will give you a solid foundation for the future. You can do it!!!! :))))

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *