Week 2

This week was a good reprieve from seeing patients and gave me time to just focus on learning theory and practice restoratives in preclinic. Last week I was very anxious about seeing patients again which led me to not do a good job as a clinician. However, following that experience, I feel like the next time won’t be so daunting and I feel a bit more prepared. This week I will hopefully be seeing another child patient and 2 perio patients. I expect it all to be hectic and chaotic but I also look forward to the learning experience and working on my time management and proficiency especially with having 2 perio patients in one session. I also really hope I have a more responsive child patient that will enable me to practice how I talk and build rapport with as my first patient wasn’t very interactive and also required a translator who left early so it was hard to build a rapport or even just make small talk. I think it was still a helpful experience because I know there will be many more patients like that in the future but the thought of seeing and treating young kids still scares me so being able to effectively communicate with them would make the whole process a bit easier.  Overall it was a very chill week that enabled me to talk about my patient fears with others and hear about their experiences which have helped renew my faith in my ability to treat patients. We’ll see next week if my faith is rightly placed.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *