PAEDS!

Most of my appointments in the DTC have been paeds. Whether this be through fate or simply sheer coincidence, it has solidified in my mind that paeds is going to be my favourite area to work in. I had quite a nervous child come in for her first appointment with me needing 2x FS, she was understandably nervous when she saw the rubber dam, but this in turn forced me to think on my feet and come up with the most inventive names for all the instruments I was using. I was able to make her laugh throughout the appointment by “accidentally” spraying her arm with water through the triplex, and we joked about how “clumsy” and “silly” I am. I managed to get the treatment done under my time goal as well as have the mother request to see only me for subsequent appts. I gave my patient some scratch and sniff stickers as well as toy rings and bracelets and sent her on her way. When it came time for her next appointment, I came in slightly earlier to get some food from downstairs. As I’m ordering my food, I heard my name being called out and see a little girl skipping towards me to hug me. I was clearly very confused until I realised it was my patient (I was honestly surprised that she recognised me beyond my mask). She gave me a hug and handed me a purple fluffy pen that she “saved her pocket money to buy for me”. This absolutely warmed my heart and I think I was more excited than her by the end of this interaction to get up to DTC and do the remainder of her treatment . Whether her mother chooses to follow me beyond uni where I decide to work, or if she chooses to stay under the care of DTC, I hope I’ve made a positive impact on the way she sees her trips to the dentists and never again fears them the way she did beforehand.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *