How does one deal with soccer mums?

This is a story I’ve been meaning to tell for a while now, but just haven’t made the time to sit down and write it and ask for some advice. One time, I was in the peads clinic and had this lovely 12 yr old girl come in with her mother. She was just the sweetest little human being!! We bonded over our love for the MCU (marvel cinematic universe) and were both fan-girling over the new ‘WandaVision’ series. Sure, the whole time we were talking, I could sense that she was a bit shy and perhaps nervous, so I was prepared to take things more slowly in this appointment. What I wanted today that day was to takes some bitewing radiographs and do a conseal FS on a maxillary molar (I think it was the 16). The first issue I ran into was at the radiography booth. I had just grabbed the film pocket when the mother stopped me and said that the film size was too large for her daughter. My patient replied and insisted that she wanted to give it a try, but her mother was also very insistent that the film would be too big. I had tried to explain to the mother that a bigger film size means we can see more, and that we should really try. Anyways, my demonstrator came to my rescue by basically just acknowledging the mothers concern but going ahead anyway…which I was shocked by! Then later on in the appointment, we tried a rubber dam isolation for the FS. At first, there was not really any issues until the clamp slipped off. It was a very surprising and potentially scary thing to happen I admit. It freaked out my patient a bit, but really threw the mother off. She became very agitated and immediately started asking for me to try something else. I could see my patient was a bit freaked out as well, and combined with her mother’s nervousness, was starting to become uncooperative to the treatment. She was more hesitant to try and get the clamp back on and was visibly started to tense up. This very quickly became a high stress situation in which I did not know how to properly deal with, so I gave in to the pressure and stress and did not complete the FS. How can I do better next time?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *