LOCKDOWN TRIALS AND TRIUMPHS!

We’re nearing the end of what is supposedly meant to be our final lockdown! For almost 2 years we’ve faced some really challenging times, mentally, physically and emotionally. I, and many others, have experienced some of the lowest lows mixed with some of the highest highs. I’ve tried to see the silver lining in almost every challenge lockdown has brought, but honestly, sometimes it’s near impossible to see the good in the bad. However as the end is nearing closer and closer, I’m starting to reflect a lot more on what has been. I used to worry about employers knowing that almost 2 out of the 3 years of uni were spent in lockdown without a lot of clinical experience. But now I’m trying to see things reversed, as though I am the employer. What would I be looking for in a graduate? What qualities would I be looking for? I’d be looking for resilience, good work ethic and character. What better way to build these qualities than to endure the worlds longest lockdown? We’ve not only handled, but we’ve conquered every challenge thrown our way. We’ve supported each other and I like to think that at some point we’ve also been a support system for our teachers. At no other point, have teachers or students had to adapt so suddenly to so many changes at once. I’m ready for this to be over, but grateful for the character and grit these almost 2 years have built.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *