I can’t believe I get to be dual qualified as a lawyer

Learning about all the ethical principles and rules and regulations in our ethics subject has got me thinking like I’m some top lawyer. I swear I’ll be working and an issue will arise wherein I could counter something like, ‘actually according to section 3.3 of the code of conduct,’ or, ‘actually under the national law,’ or, ‘actually, you’re not practicing the ethical principle of non-maleficence so I may need to make a mandatory notification if you do not take actions to correct these issues…’ OH MY LORD! Don’t I just sound so pretentious! But for real though, as boring as the ethics subject can be, I’m very grateful for what it’s taught me. It’s given me an appreciation for the  guidelines I need to work under and an ethical code that I can confirm my actions within. I am also now more aware of not only how I have to treat other people, but how other’s can treat me. The guidelines have given my a clear view of how a harmonious workplace should be, so that if I were to enter a work environment that was toxic, I would know what law or guideline to reference in order to protect myself. But then also be able to use to encourage a change in the work environment to a more positive one.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *