Covid-19 and its effects

One of my patients who presented to me for a general check-up in July was impacted by the lockdown restrictions. The patient is 13 years old and was accompanied by his father. The patient presented with flu symptoms including temperature and cough. They passed the checkpoint on the entry door at RDHM without documenting the symptoms. As usual, I started to take a medical history, and however, the patient had no medical history but the father mentioned the flu symptoms. I informed my supervisor and the decision was to reschedule the appointment again as there is a risk of causing covid exposure. The father was complaining to me that they live far away and they have been waiting for this appointment for so long. I apologized to them and I mentioned that we need to keep the entire community in a safe place as much as we can. To fix the situation, I promised the father that I will re-book his son three weeks apart. Since then, the patient was not able to attend the visit due to the lockdown. Generally, this is one of the impacts of covid that could have a significant effect on patients’ teeth. I wonder if this patient was a high caries patient and his oral hygiene is poor. Therefore, the patient could develop further complexities if they are not addressed earlier.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *